President Muhammadu Buhari has decorated the new service chiefs after the National Assembly confirmed their nominations.

Buhari decorated them inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The newly decorated service chiefs include the Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Lucky Irabor; Chief of Army Staff, Major General Ibrahim Attahiru; Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Isiaka Oladayo Amoo; and the Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Awwal Gambo.

READ MORE NEWS  Bakare, Kukah Knock Buhari Over Insecurity

Recall that the Senate confirmed their appointment after the Committee on Defense tendered its report.

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan earlier gave a two-week deadline to the committee to consider the request of President Muhammadu Buhari, who urged the Senate to confirm the new service chiefs.

The committee, which was headed by Senator Aliyu Wamakko, assessed the newly appointed service chiefs and submitted its report to the Senate in plenary on Tuesday.

READ MORE NEWS  Reps Demands Inquest Into Attack On Ortom

Consequently, the Senate confirmed their appointment based on the recommendations of the Wamakko-led committee.

They were appointed following the dismissal of the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Buhari earlier held a National Security Council meeting with the new service chiefs.

READ MORE NEWS  Benue Killings: I'm Disappointed Ortom Blames Me- Buhari

Reports have it that it was the first time the new service chiefs would participate in the council’s meeting holding at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *