14 Past Lagos State Governors You Didn’t Know


Lagos is regarded as the commercial nerve of Independent Nigeria, concluding from the fact that it is a city with major ports in the country. Though a small city in terms of landmass and geographical space, it accommodates over 9 million people according to a 2016 estimate. It was a former colony of Britain annexed in 1861. Lagos was the first capital of Independent Nigeria in 1960 until it got changed to Abuja in 1975 during the Babangida’s military regime.

The Lagos metropolitan area is a major educational and cultural centre. The University of Lagos (1962), the National Library, the Lagos city libraries, and the National Museum (1957), with excellent historical examples of Nigerian arts and crafts, are all located in the city or its suburbs. It is predominantly occupied by the Yoruba speaking people of Nigeria.

The city has thrived tremendously over the years under the leadership of several military generals and governors.

Below is a list of governors that have governed Lagos city.

  1. MOBOLAJI OLUFUNSO JOHNSON (February 9 1936 – October 30 2019) was a Nigerian Army Brigadier and Military Administrator of the Federal territory of Lagos from January 1966 to May 1967 during the military regime of General Aguiyi-Ironsi. He became Governor of Lagos State in May 1967 and served till July 1975 during the military regime of General Yakubu Gowon.

Notable contributions during his administration include;

  1. Demolition of the Ajele cemetery.
  2. The Lagos-Badagry Expressway
  3. Third main bridge
  4. Toikin Bridge to link Epe to Ikorodu

  1. ADEKUNLE SHAMUSIDEEN LAWAL (February 8, 1934 – November 27, 1980) was a Nigerian Naval Admiral who served as military Governor of Lagos State from 1975 to 1977 and military Governor of Imo State from 1977 to 1978.
  1. NDUBUISI GODWIN KANU: He was transferred from Imo state to become governor of Lagos State in 1977, leaving office in July 1978. He is still alive.
  1. OKOH EBITU IKIWE: He was a former governor of Niger state before transferred to Lagos under the Olusegun Obasanjo military rule. He served only for a year (July 1978-October 1979)
  2. LATEEF JAKANDE: He became governor of Lagos under the ticket of Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN) and served till December 1983. He was imprisoned on charges of treason after in the military regime of Babangida’s regime. He initiated a lot of policies in housing and education sector.
  1. GBOLAHAN MUDAISIRU He became governor in 1984. He continued on the path of his predecessor, Jakande, implementing housing and education projects. Lagos Metro line project initiated by Jakande. He died in 2003. The Mudasiru family are still much reckoned within the state. There is a serving Mudasiru in the position of the speaker in the Lagos state house of assembly.
  1. OKHAI MICHAEL AKHIGBE (September 29, 1946 – October 13, 2013) he served as Ondo state governor before becoming governor of Lagos in 1986 till 1988.
  1. RAJI ALAGBE RASAK was in office from 1988 till 1991. He embarked with some others in an unsuccessful coup against Babangida. He brought about a lot of radical change in the real estate industry through his demolition of unplanned buildings in the state.
  1. MICHAEL OTEDOLA He was the 9th governor of the state. He is an Epe born citizen who served from 1992-1993 under the ticket of National Republican Convention (NRC). He was a well-read governor that facilitated the establishment of Yaba College of Technology. He is the father of billionaire, Femi Otedola.
  1. OLAGUNSOYE OYINLOLA: He was an administrator of Lagos State in the military era. He stayed in office from 1993 to 1996 and later became governor of Osun state. He is an indigene of Osun state.
  1. MOHAMMED BUBA MARWA: He was governor of Lagos state from 1996- 1999 he was one of the governors that did a lot of restructuring of different sectors from health to security to transportation in the state. He stopped the “Jankara” tactic in evicting tenants and introduced “Operation 250 Roads.
  1. BOLA AHMED TINUBU served in the dispensation of democracy in Nigeria. He was in office for two consecutive political terms (1999-2007). He contested and won the governorship seat under the emblem of Alliance for Democracy (AD) party. Tinubu is still very much alive.
  1. BABATUNDE RAJI FASHOLA: He regarded as one of the reformative governors Lagos state has ever had. He served in office for two terms (2007-2015). He introduced endearing projects and initiatives in education and transportation. He started the Bus Mass transit and railway.
  2. ADEWUNMI AMBODE: He succeeded Fashola. He resumed office in May 2015 and served till May 2019. He contested using the All Progressives Congress ticket. He suspended the operations of the Lagos State Waste Management Authority. He faced an impeachment process before vacating office in 2019.

Written by Folashade


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





The Evolution of Nigerian Football Jerseys. The Good, Bad & Ugly

90% Failed To Identify This Popular Kid Footballers Can You? Take This Quiz