The Senate has confirmed the appointment of former service chiefs as non-career ambassadors-designate despite a petition against their confirmation.

The former service chiefs were confirmed after the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs led by Senator Mohammed Bulkachuwa tendered its report.

Recall that the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, earlier asked the committee to confirm the nominees as non-career ambassadors of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

They include General Abayomi Olonisakin (retd.) (Ekiti); Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai (retd.) (Borno); Vice Admiral Ibok- Ette Ibas (retd.) (Cross River; Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar(retd.) (Bauchi); and Air Vice Marshal Muhammad S. Usman (retd.) (Kano).

However, Lawan opposed an attempt by the Minority Leader, Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe to remind the lawmakers about a petition against the confirmation of the former service chiefs as ambassadors.

Lawan claimed that the petition lacked merit, therefore the service chiefs were confirmed on Tuesday.

The Senate earlier screened the immediate past service chiefs as they arrived at the Senate around 11am to participate in the screening.

Reports have it that the Senator Mohammed Bulkachuwa – led panel conducted a 15-minute closed door meeting before starting the screening.

President Muhammadu Buhari nominated the immediate past service chiefs as ambassadors nine days after they were replaced.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Nigeria Needs To Be Restructured – Ezekwesili

A former Allied Congress Party of Nigeria presidential candidate, Oby Ezekwesili has reite…